The 48 players who participated in the Beaverton Shootout this Saturday, August 18, had a lot play, plenty of close hard-fought matches, and hopefully a lot of fun.
Play was divided into 4 groups using a combination of both type of team (i.e. mixed, women’s, men’s) and skill level. Overall the groups were very competitive and only one team went undefeated throughout the day.
The format was a round robin of 6 teams in each group, so everyone got plenty of play. The top 4 teams advanced into the playoffs which determined 1st through 4th in each group. Teams played a minimum of 5 games to 21, and a maximum of the 5 to 21 followed by 6 games to 11, for a total of 171 points. The entire tournament was played in about 5 hours in which all teams started at once in a “shotgun” start.

In the D Group the seeding after the round robin put Gene and Michelle Teeters, undefeated to that point, in the top spot, followed by Gina Hoxie and Bonnie Watts, Jane and Bill Spiller, and Sue Leung and Kathy Brundo. The Spillers came from their 3rd seeding to win the group, followed by the Teeters and then Leung and Brundo. These playoffs were very close.

The C Group had two teams with 4-1 records and 2 teams with 3-2 records go into the playoffs. This group was mostly mixed doubles teams with one team of tough ladies. The level of play was high and the games competitive. Linda Hoggatt and Ron Chang held true to their seeding after the round robin and won the group, followed by Winsome Wong and Po Leung, Connie and Bob Anderson, and Mitsu Clark and Mike Rains.

The B Group, all men’s doubles teams, was again very competitive. The top two teams from the round robin were Stephane Cohen and Paul Harsono, followed by Ernie Castro and Paul Hoggatt. Both had 4-1 records at the end of round robin play. These teams held on for 1st and 2nd respectively in the playoffs. Third place was Larry Rambousek and John Morey, while Brian Bell and James Chretian placed fourth.

The A Group was also all men’s doubles. Paul Porch and Mike Wolfe went undefeated throughout to take first place. Dave McCormick and Mark Lasof were seeded second after the round robin, followed very closely by Roy Ford and Lance Thiede. These two teams were reversed in a very close 3-game match in the playoffs, with Ford and Thiede taking second followed by McCormick and Lasof. Jim Braddock and Vince Torres placed fourth.

A large part of the group enjoyed lunch together at Sweet Tomatoes after the tournament. We were fortunate to have players from Southern California and Arizona participate. We also had a wide area of both Washington and Oregon represented with players from Albany, Corvallis, Portland, Vancouver, McMinnville, Longview and Washougal. Apologies if I missed you, but I think we all had a great time


Thank you to all who attended our tournament today.  Good play was had by all.
Please consider getting those applications in for the Pickle Barrel Classic.  Go online at  and go to Pickle Barrel Classic 2012.  Enter online.

Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe, President
Columbia River Pickleball Club

Pictures will follow in the next day or two…